Archive for December 29th, 2010

December 29, 2010

Sewing Stuff

I’ve never sewn anything besides what they made you do in Highschool Home Ec. But last year I thought that I would like to try my hand in making my own bags. I didn’t want to spend an arm and a leg on a machine only to find out that I wasn’t very good at sewing, so I bought a simple, cheap, two stitch tiny little sewing machine from someone on Craigslist for like $10.00. I quickly found out that the thing couldn’t even handle like 3 layers of fabric without getting all jammed up and crazy. I barely got through hemming curtains, and no where near making bags… so I finally threw everything in a box out of frustration. Ever since then I have wanted to get a machine that would actually work because I have all these ideas that I would like to turn into cute little projects. Well… my wonderful husband got me a fantastic Singer sewing machine for Christmas! It’s beautiful, and smooth, and has a ton of different stitches that it can do, it even does button holes and can sew on buttons! Maybe this is standard with all new sewing machines, but still so exciting to me! The first thing that I made were potholders. I know, cheesy right? I felt like I was doing a Home Ec project in Highschool, but it was fun, and I got more comfortable with the speed of the foot and stuff.

Feeling more ambitious after making these, I started looking for free bag patterns. I stumbled upon great blog, with wonderful tutorials.I decided to try to make the Zippy Wallet. It’s so cute, and just the right size for essentials like your cell phone and lipstick inside, and the other cool thing is that there is a pocket on the outside just the right size for your debit card, id card, etc.

Here’s the link! http://www.noodle-head.com/2009/10/zippy-wallet-tutorial.html

I followed the tutorial with minimal difficulties, and was so so pleased with the results! So cute! I was a little surprised at how small the first one came out, so I decided to enlarge the second one, and embellish it with buttons. I love love love the pink buttons. Here they are 🙂

I think I like the bigger size better. I want to make some more of these! I love them 🙂

Well that’s it for now 🙂 For those of you who sew, you should check out that NoodleHead blog, there’s alot of cool stuff there.

Have a good day guys! 🙂